What Happened to 2014 and What’s Ahead in 2015?

It’s somewhat hard to believe that my last entry here was 6 months ago, but on the other hand, it feels like even more time than that has passed. Part of my absence was due to a major move of the Tripping Baseballs home office, aka my apartment, which took up a lot of time in the late summer and part due to some health issues that manifested in the fall and winter. These major life changes mean that I only attended 3 baseball games after returning from my trek to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Wrigley Field, giving me a very limited scope to write about. I apologize for that.

So…what’s ahead for the blog?

I plan to keep it active, otherwise I would have just kept it as a personal archive of many of my baseball adventures of the past year and a half. No, I want to keep Tripping Baseballs, but I’m not 100% sure what that means at this point. I am still fully invested in the goal of visiting all of the MLB and as many of the minor league ballparks as I can, but at best, my reports will be 4-6 new parks a season.

Another idea along those lines (read: same limitations of few new parks) is something about ballpark food, which is something that really interests me (rocky mountain oysters, anyone?) but I do generally at least touch on unique foods in my ballpark trip reports, so I don’t feel like that can be the sole direction that the blog takes.

As far back as Spring Training of last year I toyed with the idea of interviewing various baseball people, which kicked off in spectacular fashion with the Mark Appel interview early last season, which was a lot of fun to conduct and turned out really well. I wouldn’t mind doing more profiles and interviews, if that is something that would be of interest.

Is the hodgepodge approach something that still works? Sometimes, I feel that there should be more of a dedicated focus, giving the blog a chance to be the “go to” source for something specific. After all, do people care what an average baseball nut does on his assorted baseball adventures? I don’t know.

What are my personal plans for 2015, as far as baseball is concerned? Well, I am currently just over a week away from attending my 4th Cubs Convention in the frozen tundra of Chicago. The Convention is unlike anything else in baseball and I hope to be able to illustrate that. My baseball adventure for the year is slightly less ambitious than it has been in the past. I think this year I am going to stay relatively local and get in my ‘official’ visits to all of the California parks, with a few minor league parks thrown in, as well as maybe a surprise or 2 in the offing.

At this point, I’d like to once again apologize for my abandonment of the blog over these past months, and rededicate myself to the blog, and to my baseball adventures in 2015 and beyond. I hope the end of 2014 treated you well and that 2015 is doing the same thus far.

Until next time, keep tripping baseballs!

 

Leave a Reply

