Hot Takes: Game 2 NLDS

  • I learned my lesson from last night and have the booze ready to go before the first pitch tonight.
  • I may regret this later, but I have little to no fear of Jeff Samardzija in this game. It ain’t Shark Week.
  • It’s funny how things work out. I was upset when the Cubs traded Samardzija during his All Star season and then failed to re-sign him. Now, I’m glad those pieces came together like they did, adding Addison Russell and, indirectly, Aroldis Chapman.
  • Oh really, Bob Costas? The Cubs haven’t won the World Series since 1908? This is the first I’m hearing of it. Seriously though, this is why I hate ‘national broadcasts.’
  • I love Kyle Hendricks, but even I think the comparisons to Greg Maddux may be slightly premature
  • #YouGoWeGo!
  • 20+ pitches and a run in the first? Yeah, I’ll take it.
  • Hunter Pence has crazy eyes. I’m not sure he isn’t going to stab Anthony Rizzo when he’s standing on first.
  • Is there anything Kyle can’t do this season? ERA title, 2 RBI performance in the playoffs. This kid is good.
  • Uh oh. Looks like KB has found his stroke…
  • Samardzija has always reminded me of a cartoon coyote.
  •  When did Zobrist get new walkup music? I liked the old song, but “Bennie and the Jets” is fun too. I’m assuming it’s still being performed by his wife, Julianna.
  • Pretty pleased to be into the subpar Giants bullpen after only 2 innings.
  • Hoping it’s just a bruise on Kyle. This will be a scary few days until we get an official diagnosis.
  • TRAVIS WOOD!

    chi-cubs-ct0042082010-20161008

    Photo from the Chicago Tribune

  • I was unaware that Lee brand jeans were still a thing.
  • I don’t like Bumgarner coming in a pinch hitter. I like Kris Bryant making 2 errors on the play even less.
  • I think Costas may have just implied that literally anyone but the Giants and Red Sox would be an excellent World Series champ.
  • Javy Baez is, at this exact moment, the last guy the Cubs need to be hurt.
  • OK. I may be biased in this particular situation, but using replay to overturn a play where a baserunner is off the base for a fraction of a millisecond is ridiculous. I don’t know how to remedy this, but it’s definitely overkill.
  • That being said, Javy should have been running hard from the moment the ball was hit and it wouldn’t have been an issue.
  • Of the 8 top position players on the field, the Cubs and Giants are 4-4? I’ll admit that Posey is probably the superior catcher and that Crawford and Russell are pretty much even, but that’s about it. I’m very curious as to how John Smoltz justifies that.
  • Kelby Tomlinson looks like he was the last pick in a PE softball game, but one day will “make you pay for that…make you ALL pay.”
  • Literally inches from a Bryzzo Company souvenir.
  • How much longer until we can officially start stressing about Anthony’s bat?
  • Throwing at Javy? Don’t you idiot Giants know the Chicago way? Hit one of our guys, we hit 2 of yours. Be careful what you sow.
  • Sometimes I think it’s just not fair to send mere mortals to bat against Aroldis Chapman.
  • While the Giants bullpen was not nearly as bad as it has been throughout the season, I’m still confident with a lead in the later innings or even being down by a run or two.
  • Singing along to “Go Cubs Go” alone at home is not nearly as much fun as at Wrigley, but a lot more fun than not singing it after a game.
  • 3 RBI were from the pitchers tonight. Not a bad showing at all.
  • I was slightly more relaxed tonight as opposed to last night. I don’t think any domestic disturbance charges are headed my way any time soon. At least not until Monday night.
Leave a Reply

