Hot Takes: NLCS Game 1

img_1873

  • I’d hardly qualify Javy Baez as the every day second baseman.
  • Lots of solid contact early against Kenta Maeda. With the wind blowing out, this could be a very good thing
  • Dave Roberts has my vote for NL Manager of the Year.
  • Sending Adrian Gonzalez home with 2 outs and Howie Kendrick coming up was just a dumb move.Unless something catastrophic happened with the relays to the plate there is no way Gonzalez scores.
  • I think Javy Baez took the lesson to heart about hustling in every at bat. His hustle is currently bordering on dangerous…and I like it.
  • If Justin Turner makes a better throw to the plate (i.e. lower) Javy is nailed.img_2302
  • “Even the mistakes seem to go the Cubs way” is not a phrase–or sentiment–that I am accustomed to during my lifetime.
  • It takes a lot of guts for Joe Buck to mock other announcers.
  • Jason Heyward has erased at least a month of crummy regular season tonight alone.
  • It looks like Dexter Fowler has been eating his Rizz-Os for breakfast!
  • Justin Turner looks like the AMPM mascotimg_2300 img_2301
  • FS1 sure has a lot of gratuitous crotch shots.
  • During the in-game interview (which I hate) I love the fact that Jake Arrieta would stop the interview to react to what was actually going on around him and on the field.
  • I just noticed that the standings flags atop the scoreboard have been removed, leaving just the flags for the Dodgers and Cubs. Very cool little touch.
  • Anthony Rizzo’s glove is more than carrying his lack of offense, and that’s ok, if not ideal.
  • I think this Javy Baez kid may be good at baseball.
  • Watching Pedro Baez pitch is painful. He is the reason that a pitch clock is going to be instilled.
  • Jon Lester pitched a good game, but that “wind-aided” home run cancels out a few of the times the Cubs defense bailed him out. It is a hard call, and in years past I would criticize it pretty heartily, but with the current bullpen, I think things will be OK. Until they’re not.
  • (^See? Still a classic Cubs fan at heart)
  • Evidently Joe Maddon didn’t learn about using relievers for more than a batter in Game 3 of the NLDS. Things look OK…for now.
  • The 8th inning is where the dark thoughts come from.
  • The reference to Bartman on the foul ball to Anthony Rizzo was completely unnecessary. The fans literally played no park in whether it was caught or not.
  • Joe Blanton lost enough Angels games that I attended, I feel like he owed me one. Or five.
  • I questioned the move to bring in Miguel Montero rather than Willson Contreras. What the heck do I know?
  • The Cubs need to go 7-6 at this point to win the World Series. That is absolutely doable for this team!
  • Despite the score, this game was saved by the Cubs defense!
  • If tonight is any indicator, I may not survive the next few weeks. I think in the grand scheme, I’m ok with that.
Leave a Reply

