NLCS Game 5: Hot Takes

  • First of all, indulge me and allow me to address an issue from Game 4, the Adrian Gonzalez play where he was thrown out at the plate, had the play reviewed and the had the ruling on field stand. I can completely understand the frustration of an out like that., especially in such a high-stakes game. However, MLB upheld it upon review and the freeze frame shots show that his hand was above the plate as Willson Contreras tagged him. What I really don’t like is Mr. Gonzalez going on Twitter immediately following the game and continuing his whining there. I have always been a fan of Adrian, back to his Padres days as a hometown hero and to see him acting like a spoiled child is frustrating. (Yes, I also realize the Cubs had John Lackey on the mound and he is no stranger to wearing his emotions on his sleeves.)img_2325
  • I wish Willson Contreras was starting tonight, but Joe knows best and consistency has been the key for the Cubs. Having the flexibility to put Contreras in the game later might be a big factor in a close game.
  • Having Steve Garvey on the field to open the game was a gut punch, but having Vin Scully actually start the game was a nice touch. I don’t care who you root for, you can’t wish anything but great things for Vin.
  • Rizzo used Matt Szczur’s bat, evidently Addison Russell wore his underwear…who has dibs on his cup?
  • I do not like Justin Turner, Sam-I-Am.
  • Playing Beethoven for every out gets really old really quickly.
  • Jon Lester’s “inability to hold runners/field his position” is not a compelling storyline. It doesn’t bear repeating every time an opposing runner advances or hits the ball to him.26186875522_e3e9510ed7_z
  • I don’t know why, but the sight of Larry King in his suspenders sitting right behind home plate looking like he is about to fall asleep to an episode of Jeopardy! makes me smile.
  • God Bless you, Joe Blanton!
  • Now I’m afraid Adrian Gonzalez is going to have to get on Twitter to complain that he was safe at first on the overturned call. img_1165
  • Pedro Baez and the 30 seconds between pitches is utterly ridiculous. He may single-handedly be the reason MLB institutes a pitching clock.
  • 8 runs per win is something I can get used to.
  • I’m much happier with Pedro Strop getting his jitters or whatever it is in a situation with a seven run lead than a one run affair in Wrigley…or God willing, Cleveland.
  • Clayton Kershaw’s tank top is one of the best articles of clothing that I’ve seen in recent memory. kershawthrow_ff98tzdo_o9kvgmmv
  • I had little faith in Aroldis Chapman coming into this series and even that is beginning to wane. It feels like when Carlos Marmol used to come into games and it was a crapshoot as to what was going to happen.
  • Clayton Kershaw is good. There is not argument there. He might be “the” pitcher of my generation, assuming I’m slightly too late for Greg Maddux. However, Kershaw has never gone undefeated and despite what some would have the baseball world believe, he is HUMAN. That means beatable. It does not mean that it’s going to be easy. It just means that it is possible and the possibility is all that this Cubs team needs. I’m not guaranteeing it by any means, but the Cubs COULD beat Kershaw and take the pennant in Game 6. Believe!
Leave a Reply

