NLCS Game 6: Hot Takes

img_1855

  • Tonight is not about Steve Garvey, Steve Bartman, Leon Durham or Ron Santo’s black cat. Tonight is about now and beating the best pitcher in the game. Tonight is Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Javy Baez and Kyle Hendricks. Tonight is about NOW.
  • There is literally no outcome of tonight that won’t push me to the emotional brink. The agony and the ecstasy are co-mingling in my heart right now.
  • All other things aside, I want to win just to shut up Adrian Gonzalez.14725639_1501019903246706_6393321142420226201_n
  • My baseball boyfriend is better than your baseball boyfriend.img_1979
  • I love the fans behind first base waving at Clayton Kershaw to distract him. Too bad Wrigley is so quiet, right Adrian?
  • We had the champ on the ropes and we bloodied him and bloodied him good. He’s still in the fight, but I think he has lost a little something inside and I can’t help but be optimistic that the Cubs know it too and will take full advantage of it.
  • The term “cat-like” is often used to describe athletes, but Willson Contreras really looks like a cat when he is jumping around after a loose ball at the plate.
  • Even the outs against Clayton Kershaw are being hit really hard.
  • I’m pretty uncomfortable with Joe Buck talking as if the Cubs have already won. I’m an old time Cubs fan…I’m still uber cautious about good things.
  • I love seeing Anthony Rizzo and Javy Baez screwing around with each other. That’s one way to show how loose and relaxed these young Cubbies are.
  • Ive been fairly uncomfortable with the comparisons between Kyle Hendricks and Greg Maddux, but tonight, Kyle looks like Maddux.
  • Somehow I’m more nervous with a 5-0 lead than I would be with a 0-0 or 1-0 game. I’m completely irrational.
  • img_0492
  • Kenley Jansen is good. Really good, but I think this may be a case of closing the barn door after the Cubs got out. the Cubs offense could literally go 0-the rest of the game, but as long as the defense and pitching hold up, you could bring inSandy Koufax and Don Drysdale and it wouldn’t matter.
  • This is what I’ve been waiting for my entire life. When I was getting teased and mocked for wearing my Cubs cap, I saw this moment in my head. When people wouldn’t shut up about the Cubs losing 14 straight to start the 1997 season, I knew there was a light at the end of the tunnel. We are just about out of that tunnel and into the light and it feels so good.
  •  This can’t be happening. This is a dream, right? A cruel joke? Someone is going to wake me up and tell me what really happened during this season. I honestly can’t handle this.
  • The young Cubs are NOT trying to break any curse. The don’t care about a curse or a goat or anything like that. They just want to win!
  • The old joke used to be “An optimist says the glass is half full. A pessimist says it’s half empty. A Cubs fan wonders when the glass is going to tip over.” That’s not true any more. Cubs fans are justifiably optimistic and confident that what SHOULD happen WILL happen. No curses or jinxes for this Cubs team.
Leave a Reply

