World Series Game 3: Hot Takes

  • People were lining up at 530 Am to get a precious seat at one of the Wrigleyville bars. At least one watering hole was reportedly charging a $100 cover, plus $250/hour bill with a mandatory 18% gratuity. Not a bad gig if you can get it!
  • The sound on this tv is godawful so I’m listening to Pat and Ron on the radio. I ain’t even mad.
  • This is a moment 71 years in the making. Cubs fans have been born, lived full lives and have died without seeing a moment like this. I may be 2,000 miles from Wrigley but I can see this at least. That’s a blessing. 
  • It’s only the top of the first but that overturned pickoff play could loom huge in this game.
  • Jorge Soler in the starting lineup does not fill me with confidence. Nor did that second inning strikeout.
  • Addison Russell earned his Gold Glove nomination just for the catch in the top of the third.
  • So Mike Napoli was “indisposed” in the bottom of the fifth inning and the Indians stalled the start of the inning. I wish Napoli had come out with toilet paper on his shoe.
  • I’m shocked that Hendricks is 0-7 when the Cubs score one run or less. Hard to win if the team gets shut out. 
  • Pulling Carlos Santana and his offense for Rajai Davis in the mid-innings of a 0-0 game astounds me. It’s not protecting a lead and the Indians lose a dangerous weapon in what appears to be a low scoring tight game.
  • Getting “a mouth full of World Series pressure”?
  • I’d like to see a cutaway interview with the parent of an MLB player where the parent acts like a little league parent. ” Well I told josh not to throw his curveball and what does he do the very second he’s on the mound?? I’m glad they hit 3 home runs. Maybe he will listen to that because God knows I’ve tried everything else.”
  • Well that was not how I expected the first run of this game to score.
  • The  Cubs were counted out versus the Giants and Dodgers and look how those turned out. Victory will have to come in enemy territory in Cleveland, but it is do-able. I still have faith until our 27 is recorded in the deciding game. That faith may kill me before that time, but I’m willing to risk it.
  • I love that when they cut to them Derek Lee was texting on his phone while Ryne Sandberg was chatting on his.
  • Jason Heyward continues his miserable season for the Cubs by giving me hope in the bottom of the 9th.
  • Anthony Rizzo looks like he is in physical pain when Javy Baez didn’t (did) check his swing.
  • Heading to Cleveland 3-2 isn’t ideal but the Cubs can do it. Still I believe.
Leave a Reply

