World Series Game 5: Hot Takes

img_2359

  • This is it. I realize that even with a win tonight there are still 2 more to go, but a win tonight will remind these young Cubs of what they are capable of. These Cubs are capable of winning the whole World Series if they take it one game at a time. One inning at a time. One at-bat at a time.
  • These Cubs are different from any Cubs team I’ve seen. They are ignoring the history that has mostly happened before they were born and focusing on the “now.” They know they are a good team and when they play their style of baseball, nobody can heat them, Even down 3-1 they were confident in their ability.
  • “It’s one game at a time, don’t change anything, have fun, smile, just be ourselves.”–Kris Bryant
    “We’ve won 3 games in a row before.We’re not trying to do anything impossible.”
    –Jason Heyward
  • There has never, in the history of man, been such a desire to go willingly to Cleveland.
  • This World Series is getting me emotionally, not only because it’s the Cubs in the Series, but because of those I love who aren’t here to share it with me. Ernie, Harry, Ron and my Papa just to name a few.
  • The Ross-assisted pop out to Anthony Rizzo was a thing of truest beauty.
  • I realize that the World Series will create heroes out of anyone, but how has Jose Ramirez turned into Babe Ruth?
  • It breaks my heart that, in all practicality, this is the last time we will ever see the Lester-Ross battery that has been together for so long. davidrossjonlesterdwdishpcrkzm
  • Country Joe West is scheduled to work home plate in Game 6. I loathe Country Joe, especially at the plate, but I would give everything I own to see him work Game 6 in Cleveland.
  • There is an absolute reason that Jason Heyward is a Gold Glove nominee!ct-cubs-indians-world-series-game5-photos-002
  • David Ross is performing like a circus acrobat tonight on defense.
  • KRIS BRYANT!!!  img_2185
  • Small ball is putting a lot of pressure on Trevor “Drone” Bauer and the Indians…and they don’t seem able to handle it.
  • To paraphrase the film Major League, “F you, Jobu!”
  • The Cubs are starting to remember what it was that brought them to this place, and having some fun. Guess what? Keep that up and the wins will keep right on rolling!
  • John Smoltz seemed shocked by Anthony Rizzo’s deftness with the glove. This is not news. This is what Anthony does.img_2376
  • Jon Lester has earned every cent that the Cubs are paying him by coming up huge in these “must win” games. Every red cent.
  • I would like a lead of greater than 2 runs so that the inevitable Aroldis Chapman appearance doesn’t cause me to have a coronary.
  • I’m used to seeing celebratory patches on the sleeves of the Cubs jerseys. “100 Years of Wrigley Field,” “100 Years of the Cubs at Wrigley Field,” “20 Years Since Mark Grace Traded an Autograph for a Bag of Peanuts,” or whatever, but none of them have looked any better than the “World Series 2016” patch they’ve got now._35
  • I can’t believe it’s only the top of the 6th. I feel like I’ve lived 1,000 lifetimes since first pitch.
  • Lip reading is fun. Many of the players use the same word. It’s not a polite word.
  • Well…at least our mascot isn’t racist.img_2418
  • The ability of David Ross to throw out/ throw behind baserunners is astounding and he is criminally underrated in those categories.
  • I really don’t like Brian Shaw’s weird, loosey-goosey windup. It looks like he is trying to dislocate his shoulder and makes me physically uncomfortable.
  • It appears David Ross’ night is over. Thanks for catching one hell of a last game at Wrigley. Now go be a hero in Cleveland for the next few days, then ride off into the sunset. You will be truly missed.chi-cubindians-ct0044289411-20161030
  • Also, in light of David Ross, and his “Grandpa” nickname, it’s funny because he is obviously the senior member of the Cubs roster. It stopped being funny when I realized that Ross is only about 4 years older than me.
  • I don’t like Aroldis Chapman. I really don’t like him coming in mid-inning. I’m currently trying to breathe and wondering why my defibrillator surgery is tomorrow rather than before this. I think that ws a case of really poor timing on everyone’s part.
  • I don’t know how I survived that top of the 7th, but I’m glad I did, because Eddie Vedder leading into the stretch and dedicating the song to David Ross warmed the cockles of my cold little heart and I think I’m ready for these last 6 outs. I’m not, but I am good at lying to myself.ct-cubs-indians-world-series-game5-photos-042
  • A Dexter Fowler foot injury would rank up there pretty high on the “Things the Cubs Don’t Need to Happen” list.
  • Chapman not covering first base on the great stop by Rizzo is the kind of “small thing” that loses games. And championships. If you didn’t buy a ticket, you can’t just stand and watch the game happen around you.
  • 5 of 8 outs recorded by Chapman to seal the win. It’s the last 3 that are going to give me more ulcers than I already have. Can the Cubs just have a nice crooked bottom of 8? Please?
  • It’s interesting how as the evening wears on, so does the percentage of rum in my rum and Coke.
  • With Hector Rondon available, I would not let Chapman bat with 2 out in the 8th. I bring in a pinch hitter and let someone else close it out. Jason Heyward standing on second base is far too valuable a run in a series like this where a solo home run ties it.
  • The good Lord must be in Chicago, and at least for tonight, is a Cubs fan. Let’s get on that plane to CLEVELAND and come home with some jewelry!
Leave a Reply

